RACCOONS IN THE NEWS: BEER! (Again)

Gigantic-Hearts-Stars-Saison

I was browsing the beer selection at one of the many liquor stores near me and came across something I don’t see very often: a beer with a raccoon on its label! Of course, I was powerless to resist the need to buy it. This isn’t the first time I’ve seen a raccoon beer;  there was one a couple of years ago, the Festina Peche from Dogfish Head. That beer, a seasonal, seems to feature a different artist’s work on the label every year when it’s re-released.  Gigantic Brewing Company, who made the beer I just bought, similarly used an artist’s work for their label. In this case, the image is a photo of a sculpture by Maryanna Hoggatt from Portland, OR (where Gigantic is located) is a part of a series titled Animal Battle, which depicts slightly anthropomorphized forest critters sporting improvised weapons and armor.

So how’s the beer? Beats me. I haven’t drunk it yet. I have a tradition of cooking myself a steak on Sunday nights. I’ll drink it with my dinner. From the reviews on Beer Advocate, it’s a little sweet but mostly underwhelming. So it tastes like beer. Good to know!

I need to watch something to complement the drink … I know: I’ll watch Guardians of the Galaxy! I haven’t seen that again yet this year.

Leave a Reply

