Deus Ex: Human Extermination

I’ve been playing Deus Ex: Human Revolution for the Playstation 3 lately.  To be honest, I didn’t have any real interest in this title; I’d never played the originals and the concept of prequels has always annoyed me.  I prefer to advance a story rather than have something over-explained that barely needed explanation in the first place.  Still, this game was garnering stellar reviews, it was on sale, and something about the omnipresent sepia tones of the graphics evoked a kind of retro sci-fi (one normally seen in steampunk) look that appealed to me.  Oddly, Bioshock, which tried to beat players over the head with its retro-futuristic styling (personally, I find the use of art deco for this purpose to be cliche) never appealed to me and I only bought–and played–that game grudgingly because its price eventually dropped to just $20.  I never even bothered with the sequel, although for some reason the latest game in the series–another prequel–has some inexplicable appeal for me.

Back to Deus Ex.  One of the common criticisms of the game has been its boss battles.  Enough ire has been raised about them that the game’s developer has gone so far as to distance themselves from that aspect of the title.  Frankly, aside from a couple of deaths as I figured out the tricks to beating them, I haven’t found the boss fights particularly egregious.  This is apparently because I play the game the wrong way.

You see, I don’t go in for that pussyfooting about.  I’m much more of a guns blazing, destroy all opposition kind of game player.  Unfortunately you still can’t play this title as a balls-out FPS.  Even with maxed-out armor you can still be killed fairly easily by your opposition if you don’t play things tactically.  This has resulted in a lot of situations where my character has to switch between shotguns and sniper rifles while scurrying about air ducts to keep out of the line of fire.  But getting through a mission without being spotted or, heaven forbid, killing an enemy?  The thought of accomplishing that never crossed my mind.  That sort of covert game play was always too time-consuming and reliant on precision for me.  Things always ended up in a firefight, so I just went in with guns blazing anyway.

Leave a Reply

