A Fool & His Money

Man, I’m ashamed to say I’ve been on a spending spree lately.  It was bad enough that I picked up Bulletstorm, the Sly Collection, and Ratchet & Clank Future (with a Dualshock 3 controller) on sale from Amazon last week.

Then this weekend I stopped by a local Borders to pick whatever meat was left on its bones (for up to 90% off retail price!) and got some interesting books and a Bluray for just $26!  But dang, I also picked up a couple of those damn Prima strategy guides (for Super Street Fighter IV & Bulletstorm) which, at 70% off, rang up at $6 a pop.  These things are just so overpriced.  They’re also a relic of the past. I remember a time before the internet and Gamefaqs in particular that guidebooks (and the tips section of the occasional issue of gaming magazines) were the only way to really learn things about games.

After that I was at the Small Press Expo where I spent a hefty sum on some cool pieces.  I’ll go into more detail on that in a later post.

Then yesterday and today?  Deus Ex: Human Revolution was $35 on Amazon and Gamestop was selling all Playstation Move hardware for 50% off.  I was … powerless … against the deals.  Mind strong … body weak! So now I have a Move wand, navigation controller, and Sharpshooter thing.  Now I can play games that are … just like playing similar games on the wii.  If not exactly, given that the game I want are House of the Dead: Overkill Extended Cut, De Blob 2, and No More Heroes: Heroes’ Paradise.  But I hated the wii!

That wasn’t a wise choice, was it?

Leave a Reply

